Emergency Management Team

The University of South Carolina’s Emergency Management Program is a combined effort of numerous departments and administrators from all areas of campus. In the event of an emergency, the University maintains an Emergency Management Team (EMT) that is ready to respond to any incident that may face our campus community. This team is composed of 37 functional units to ensure that all aspects of the emergency response are working collectively to resolve the incident. The following University departments are represented on the EMT:

  • President
  • Vice Presidents
  • Board of Trustees
  • Division of Law Enforcement and Safety
  • Environmental Health and Safety
  • University Communications
  • Student Health Services: Student Health Center
  • Parents Programs
  • Community Service Programs
  • Student Health Services: Counseling Center
  • Division of Student Affairs and Academic Support
  • Provost Office
  • Human Resources
  • Geography Department: GIS
  • Facilities
  • University Technology Services (UTS)
  • Housing
  • Carolina Dining Services
  • Vehicle Management/Parking Services
  • Budget Office
  • Purchasing
  • Controller
  • Payroll Department
  • University Development

This team meets on a regular basis to create and revise plans, train, exercise, and prepare to respond to the emergencies that may affect our campus.